Melbourne Documentary Film Festival (10)



Dates limites

16 juin 2024
Appel à Inscriptions

28 févr. 2025
Date limite précoce

31 mars 2025
Date limite standard

30 avril 2025
Date limite retardée

20 mai 2025
Date limite étundue

10
mois

20 juil. 2025
Date de notification

01 juil. 2025
31 juil. 2025

Adresse

gpo 4007,  3000, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia


Description du Festival
Festival d court métrage 40'<
Festival de long métrage >41'


Exigences du Festival
 Festival de cinéma
 Fiction
 Documentaire
 Animation
 Fantastique
 Terreur
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Autres
 Tous les genres
 Tous les thèmes
 A des frais d’inscription
 Festival International
 Lieu physique
 janvier 2013
 Pays de production: Tout
 Pays de tournage: Tout
 Nationalités des directeurs: Tout
 Premiers Films 
 Projets scolaires 
 Courts-métrages  40'<
 Long-métrage  >41'
 Langues 
English
 Sous-titres 
English
Partager sur les réseaux sociaux
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival
Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival

Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival
Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival

English
French ML


Début du Festival: 01 juillet 2025      Fin du Festival: 31 juillet 2025

À propos de :

Vivienne Westwood, King Crimson, Tendechi Trucks, Penelope Spheeris, Jason Mamoa, Rosario Dawson, Mel Brooks, Frank Miller, Mike Mignola, Guillermo Del Toro, Paton Oswalt, Nichola Meyer, Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson, Banksy, Octavia Spencer, Liza Minelli, Marlee Matlin et ce n'est que la 7e édition. Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est un festival indépendant qui apporte soutien et encouragement et aide les cinéastes à accéder à Netflix, SBS, ABC grâce à leurs talents, leur dur labeur et leur détermination !

Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est une institution populaire et appréciée. Nous avons grandi au cours des 7 dernières années pour devenir un festival du film australien important et essentiel, présentant les meilleurs et les plus innovants documentaires de pointe au monde. Si vous êtes accepté, vous avez la garantie de faire partie d'une équipe incroyable de classe mondiale. Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est un événement précurseur en juillet avant le premier événement de Melbourne, le Melbourne International Film Festival, qui commence en août. Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est le plus grand festival de doco indépendant d'Australie, avec plus de 150 documentaires répartis sur 31 jours. Nous recrutons actuellement pour des longs métrages documentaires locaux, australiens et internationaux, des courts documentaires, des séries Web documentaires, des essais vidéo, des photographies documentaires, des documentaires en réalité virtuelle et des documentaires interactifs pour participer à nos Australian Documentary Awards organisés lors de notre festival de juillet 2022.

Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est un festival où vous et votre documentaire êtes les vedettes de notre festival ! Des milliers de personnes y assistent chaque année en ligne, au cinéma et à l'extérieur.

Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival a un sentiment communautaire et se soucie sincèrement des cinéastes et de leurs documentaires, les anciens élèves participant aux juges et aux masterclasses.

Nous soutenons :
Australiens, BLM, autochtones, femmes dans le cinéma, LGBTIQ, diversité, cinéastes handicapés, égalité, réfugiés, questions environnementales et liberté d'expression.

Nous sommes contre :
Haine asiatique, racisme, islamophobie, antisémitisme, âgisme, sexisme, harcèlement, fascisme, xénophobie, inégalité et discrimination.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne a :

- Plus de 700 documentaires ont été présentés en avant-première en Australie
- 4 fois le meilleur festival du film documentaire au monde - Film Daily
- 1 x Meilleur festival de films documentaires de l'hémisphère sud - GuideDoc
- En 2020, nous avons créé le plus grand festival de films documentaires en ligne de l'hémisphère sud avec plus de 150 documentaires présentés
- Premier festival de films documentaires compétitif d'Australie à être mis en ligne

Bref, au cours des 7 dernières années, le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival s'est imposé comme un trésor rare sur la scène des festivals bondée et de plus en plus homogène, sans pour autant rester dans la course.

Ce que nous recherchons :
Idéalement, nous aimerions voir vos longs métrages, courts métrages, documentaires en réalité virtuelle, essais vidéo et séries Web documentaires produits localement et à l'international pour être présentés lors de notre compétition à Melbourne, en Australie, en 2022. Tous les pays, tous les âges, tous les niveaux, tous les genres de documentaires sont encouragés à postuler et peuvent être pris en compte.

Le code postal le plus populaire :
Melbourne, en Australie, a toujours été élue l'une des villes les plus heureuses et les plus agréables à vivre au monde. Notre compétition représente une excellente opportunité et une raison de visiter l'Australie. En 2019, 41 invités de l'étranger et de toute l'Australie ont assisté à notre festival. Cela a été rendu possible grâce au fait que le festival a financé la participation des cinéastes, que les cinéastes ont payé eux-mêmes leur participation, que les consulats, les ambassades et les commissions cinématographiques ont payé la participation des cinéastes et grâce au financement participatif des personnes pour y assister. Le festival est une excellente occasion de réseautage.

La compétition la plus rude :
Affrontez Melbourne, en Australie, et testez votre courage avec les meilleures et les plus prestigieuses écoles de films documentaires et festivals de films tels que Tribecca, Sundance, Sydney Film Festival, TIFF, Venice Film Festival, American Documentary Film Festival, Raindance, Slamdance, Sheffield Doc Fest, Hot Docs, New Zealand International Film Festival, Traverse City Film Festival Doc NYC, SXSW, CPH:dox, IDFA et bien d'autres. Tu es là pour le gagner.

Make it Australian : Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est une plateforme d'encouragement et de soutien pour les cinéastes locaux. Nous nous engageons à diffuser au moins 45 % de contenu australien lors de notre festival 2021 afin de soutenir l'industrie locale. Les productions Screen Australia, Film Victoria, Create NSW, Screen West, Screen QLD, Screen NT, Screen Tasmania, Documentary Australia Foundation, AIDC et Goodpitch Australia sont invitées à postuler. MDFF souhaite avoir la meilleure concurrence australienne en s'appuyant sur l'industrie locale et les talents indépendants. Les productions de SBS, NITV et ABC sont également éligibles à la compétition, à condition que la production soumise contienne du nouveau matériel et qu'il s'agisse effectivement d'un montage réalisé par un réalisateur.

Les cinémas les plus cool :
Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival fait actuellement partie de la famille de festivals Cinema Nova, notamment le Transitions Film Festival, le Melbourne Queer Festival et le Monster Fest. Cinema Nova est l'un des meilleurs cinémas d'Australie et le plus grand cinéma indépendant de l'hémisphère sud avec 16 salles dans le centre-ville de Melbourne et l'un des bars à cocktails les plus branchés de la région. Cinema Nova est le lieu de prédilection pour présenter des documentaires en avant-première, y compris des films australiens exclusifs tels que The Sparks Brothers, Billie Holiday VS USA. Tous les longs métrages, courts métrages, essais vidéo et webséries documentaires en compétition seront diffusés en DCP sur un projecteur 4K à 24 images par seconde en son Dolby Surround. Les salles de cinéma que nous utiliserons pour la compétition auront une capacité de 147 à 240 places. Toutes les questions-réponses seront animées par un membre du Cercle des critiques de cinéma d'Australie ou de l'Association australienne des critiques de films. Nous avons même préparé des cocktails au bar du cinéma, ainsi que des soirées et des événements de réseautage à ne pas manquer.

Le meilleur festival :
Le MDFF présente en avant-première, projette et présente chaque année plus de documentaires locaux australiens et internationaux de qualité que tout autre festival de films exclusivement consacrés au documentaire en Australie et donne à un plus grand nombre de cinéastes indépendants talentueux la chance de concourir et de les projeter devant un public nombreux et réceptif à Melbourne, en Australie. Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est régulièrement présenté sur SBS, ABC, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian, Time Out, Concrete Playground et Weekend Notes et a présenté d'autres courts documentaires à Federation Square.
Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival offre une opportunité unique et une plateforme de soutien pour présenter VOTRE documentaire Down Under dans l'une des villes les plus branchées et les plus agréables au monde, Melbourne, en Australie. Nous recherchons des avant-premières mondiales, australiennes ou de Melbourne exclusives, des longs métrages documentaires à présenter dans le cadre de notre compétition. Laissez nos 45 partenaires médias et notre publiciste vous soutenir et aider à promouvoir VOUS et VOTRE projet Down Under et obtenez la bonne dynamique et la visibilité nécessaires au lancement de votre projet en Australie.

En bref :
Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival vise à présenter les documentaires les plus récents et les plus innovants du monde entier, qu'il s'agisse de courts documentaires ou de longs métrages primés. Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival cherche à promouvoir les documentaires indépendants et industriels de la meilleure qualité que le cinéma puisse offrir.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne présente les meilleurs films issus des meilleurs festivals qui s'affrontent à Melbourne en Australie, tels que :
Festival du film documentaire américain, Big Sky Film Festival, Cannes, CPH:DOX, Doxa, Full Frame, Hot Docs, IDA, IDFA, Slamdance, SXSW, Festival du film de Sydney, Festival du film de New York, RIDM, Festival international du film de Harlem, DocAviv, ImagineNATIVE, Festival international du film de Shanghai, Festival du film musulman, TIFF, Tribecca, Venise, Hot Springs Doc Fest, Festival du film de Telluride, Tokyo Docs, AFI Docs, Festival du film documentaire de Sébastopol, Festival international du film de Rotterdam, Doc N Roll et Festival international du film de Cork.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne présente les meilleures inscriptions des meilleures organisations :
ESPN, Time Magazine, HBO, The Atlantic, Story Hive, Loading Docs, Australian Cultural Fund, Environmental Victoria, Creative Victoria, Regional Arts Victoria, Australia Rise Fund, BFI, Kartequinn, National Geographic, Screen Australia, Film Victoria, Screen West, Screen Tasmania, Screen Ireland, Doc Society, CBC, BBC, NL Film Fonds, NFB, IDA, Documentary Australia Foundation, Wild Angle Tasmania, AIDC et NITV.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne connaît un succès et une distribution continus considérables pour les cinéastes :
Netflix, Apple +, Amazon, Stan, SBS, ABC, NITV, Waterbear, The New York Times, The New Yorker, MTV Films, Foxtel, Redbull TV, National Geographic, iWonder, Docplay, la chaîne documentaire The Guardian, Films for Change, Rialto Channel.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne a été présenté dans :
Canal 9, Canal 10, The Project, ABC, SBS, NITV, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald, Triple RRR, PBS, Time Out, Broadsheet, Concrete Playground, 3CR, Kiss FM, 60 minutes, Film Daily, Weekend Notes, IF Magazine, Vimooz, The Australian, Movie Metropolis, Screen Hub, Arts Hub, The Daily Telegraph, Radio National, 3WBC, Plenty Valley FM, 2SER, Filmino Flicks, et The Conversation.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne a présenté le projet des meilleurs talents australiens :
Warwick Thornton, Jack Thompson, Bruce Beresford, Rachel Griffiths, Olivia Newton-John, Cate Blanchett, Tommy Emmanuel, Jack Charles, Kutcha Edwards, Tom Zubrycki et Pat Fiske.

Les sujets des masterclasses précédentes incluent :
Documentaire sur l'histoire de la Nouvelle-Zélande : voyage personnel avec Costa Botes, documentaire asiatique avec Nick Torrens, VOD et distributions avec Beama Films, financement participatif pour un documentaire avec Pozible, autodistribution avec Fanforce, réalisation du grand documentaire musical australien, réalisation d'un documentaire personnel, réalisation de documentaires sur les personnes LGBTIQ et aborigènes, documentaires expérimentaux, réalisateurs de documentaires et santé mentale, réalisation de films sur téléphone portable pour la réalisation de documentaires.

Le festival du film documentaire de Melbourne a reçu des inscriptions impliquant certains des meilleurs réalisateurs et grandes stars du monde, comme :
Peter Medak, Werner Herzog, Oliver Stone, Leonardo Di Caprio, Bruce Beresford, Richard Linklater, Martin Scorsese, Francis Ford Coppola, Lawrence Kasdan, James Cameron, Errol Morris, Barbara Kopple, Anjelica Huston, Susan Sarandon, Sharon Stone, Cynthia Nixon et Joan Baez.

Le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival présente les meilleurs documentaires musicaux de Men at Work, Tommy Emmanuel, Placebo, Grace Jones, The Sonics, Agnostic Front, George Michael, Van Duran, Terry Pendergrass, Ronnie Wood, The Velvet Underground, Strange Tenants, Head Like a Hole, The Swans, The Beatles, Jonny Greenwood et Beverley Glenn-Copeland.

Festival le plus attendu de Melbourne, Australie
https://www.timeout.com/melbourne/film/upcoming-film-festivals-in-melbourne

L'équipe du Melbourne Documentary Film Festival est impatiente de vous proposer une gamme variée et stimulante de documentaires qui vous divertiront, vous éduqueront et vous informeront. Faisons donc un peu l'histoire du cinéma de Melbourne ensemble !

FESTIVAL DU FILM DOCUMENTAIRE DE MELBOURNE

RÈGLES DE SOUMISSION

Veuillez noter que le Melbourne Documentary Film Festival soutient le MIFF et l'AIDC mais qu'il est indépendant et ne fait partie d'aucune de ces organisations.

Ces règles (les « règles ») s'appliquent à toutes les inscriptions au Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Inc (« MDFF »). En soumettant votre film (le « Film ») en vue de son inclusion dans le festival organisé par MDFF (le « Festival »), vous (le « Demandeur » ou « Vous ») acceptez par la présente d'être lié par le présent règlement.

LES RÈGLES

1. Inscription

1.1 MDFF examinera chaque inscription reçue (une « Inscription ») en fonction des critères d'éligibilité (définis ci-dessous).

1.2 Un film qui ne répond pas aux critères d'éligibilité à la date de projection ne sera pas projeté.

1.3 MDFF peut, à son entière discrétion, décider d'accepter une inscription répondant aux critères d'éligibilité, mais n'est pas obligée de projeter un film en particulier au Festival, même si le film répond aux critères d'éligibilité. MDFF se réserve le droit de modifier sa décision de projeter un film à sa discrétion.

1.4 La décision prise par MDFF d'accepter ou de refuser de projeter un film est définitive. MDFF ne remboursera en aucun cas les frais d'inscription payés. Assurez-vous de vérifier toutes les dates, les conversions de devises et les coûts associés avant de soumettre votre documentaire. Aucun remboursement ne sera effectué. En raison du nombre de candidatures reçues, les commentaires individuels ne sont pas possibles, mais nous pouvons vous suggérer de vous inscrire à notre prochain documentaire Open Mic en envoyant un e-mail à info@mdff.org.au

1.5 Les candidats retenus seront contactés fin mai ou début juin 2025.

1.6 Les candidats retenus recevront une copie de l'accord de sélection du MDFF.

Les inscriptions des candidats retenus qui n'acceptent pas l'accord de sélection du MDFF ne seront pas examinées.

1.8 Vous reconnaissez que MDFF ne paie pas de frais de sélection aux candidats.

2. Éligibilité

2.1 Une Inscription est éligible si toutes les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

a. L'Inscription est reçue avant la date limite du 20 mai 2025

b. Documentaires dont la production a débuté au plus tôt le 1er janvier 2013 ;

c. Le film n'est jamais sorti, et ne le sera pas avant le 12 juin 2025, disponible gratuitement en ligne ou diffusé en salles autrement que sur Fanforce (toutefois, le Festival peut, à sa discrétion, accepter les films sortis en salles ou déjà projetés dans d'autres festivals), à l'exception des essais vidéo, des séries Web documentaires et de certains courts documentaires, des longs métrages documentaires ABC, SBS, NITV qui doivent contenir du nouveau contenu ;

d. Le film est en anglais ou contient des sous-titres en anglais ; et

e. L'Inscription accompagnée des frais d'inscription applicables
(les « critères d'éligibilité »).

2.2 MDFF préfère que les films soient soumis à l'évaluation de notre compétition via Festhome.

3. Retour du matériel

3.1 Les documents soumis ne seront pas retournés. Nous vous recommandons vivement de ne pas inscrire de documents originaux.

4. Garantie

4.1 En soumettant votre film, vous garantissez que :

a. Vous êtes libre d'inscrire le film au Festival ;

b. Le film répond aux critères d'éligibilité ; et

c. Vous avez obtenu toutes les autorisations nécessaires concernant le film et celui-ci n'enfreint pas les droits (y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, le droit d'auteur) d'un tiers.

5 : Spécifications :

Le long métrage, le court métrage et l'essai vidéo seront joués en DCP à 24 images par seconde (et non à 25 images par seconde)
Docs 360/VR
Vidéo
-Microscopique à 360°
.mp4
-Résolution 4K, aspect 2 par 1.
-30 images par seconde

Audio
-Attaché en stéréo à la vidéo .mp4
-Spatial- Séparez le fichier Audio.TBE (41 kHz uniquement) Vidéo dans ce cas pour qu'aucun son ne soit joint.

Bonne chance aux cinéastes !







  

 
  

Découvrez les meilleurs films et festivals, en un seul clic

S’inscrire
Connexion

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival (7)



Deadlines

24 Aug 2021
Call for entries

31 Jan 2022
Early deadline

28 Feb 2022
Standard deadline

28 Mar 2022
Late deadline

16 May 2022
Extended deadline

5
mths

16 Jul 2022
Notification date

01 Jul 2022
31 Jul 2022

Address

gpo 4007,  3000, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia


Festival description
Short film festival 41'<
Feature film festival >42'


Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Fiction
 Documentary
 Animation
 Fantastic
 Terror
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Other
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Has submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 January 2013
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Short Films  41'<
 Feature Films  >42'
 Languages 
English
 Subtitles 
English
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival
Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival

Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival
Photo of Melbourne Documentary Film Festival

English


Festival start: 01 July 2022      Festival end: 31 July 2022

About:
The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is a popular and beloved institution. We have grown over the last 7 years to become an important and essential Australian film festival, showcasing the world's best and most innovative cutting-edge documentaries. If accepted, you are guaranteed to be part of an incredible, world class line up. The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is a forerunner event in July before Melbourne's premier event Melbourne International Film Festival which starts in August. Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is Australia's biggest indie doco fest - 150 + documentaries over 31 days. We are currently recruiting for local Melbourne, Australian, and International Feature Documentary, Short Documentary, Documentary Web Series, Video Essays, Documentary Photography, VR and Interactive Documentaries to compete in our Australian Documentary Awards held during our July 2022 festival.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is a festival where you and your documentary are the star of our festival! Thousands of people attend each year online, in-cinema and outdoors.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival has a community feeling about it and genuinely cares about the filmmakers and their documentaries with alumni helping out with judging and masterclasses.

We Support:
Australian, BLM, Indigenous, Women in Film, LGBTIQ, Diversity, Disabled Filmmakers, Equality, Refugees, Environmental Issues and Freedom of Speech.

We are against:
Asian Hate, Racism, Islamophobia, Antisemitism, Ageism, Sexism, Bullying, Fascism, xenophobia, Inequality and Discrimination.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Has:

- Premiered over 700 + documentaries in Australia
- 7 x Top 100 Film Festival out of the 9,000 Festivals in the World - FilmFreeway
- 4 x Best in the World Documentary Film Festival - Film Daily
- 1 x Best in the Southern Hemisphere Documentary Film Festival - GuideDoc
- In 2020 we created the Southern Hemisphere's biggest online documentary film festival with over 150 documentaries showcased
- Australia's first competitive documentary film festival to go online

In short, over the course of the past 7 years, Melbourne Documentary Film Festival has become established as a rare treasure in the crowded and increasingly homogenous festival scene, without remaining in the slipstream.

What We Are Looking For:
Ideally, we want to see your locally and internationally produced Feature, Short, VR documentaries, Video Essays and Documentary Web Series to showcase in our competition in Melbourne, Australia in 2022. All countries, all ages, all abilities, all genres of documentary are encouraged to apply and can be considered.

The Hottest Postcode:
Melbourne, Australia has consistently been voted one of the worlds happiest and most liveable cities. Our competition represents a great opportunity and reason to visit Australia. In 2019 we had 41 guests to our festival from overseas and across Australia. This was made possible through a combination of the festival paying for the filmmakers to attend, filmmakers paying for themselves to attend, consulates, embassies and film commissions paying for filmmakers to attend and people crowd funding to attend. The festival is a great networking opportunity.

The Toughest Competition:
Go head-to-head in Melbourne, Australia and test your mettle with the world’s best, and most prestigious documentary film schools and film festivals such as Tribecca, Sundance, Sydney Film Festival, TIFF, Venice Film Festival, American Documentary Film Festival, Raindance, Slamdance, Sheffield Doc Fest, Hot Docs, New Zealand International Film Festival, Traverse City Film Festival Doc NYC, SXSW, CPH:Dox, IDFA, and many more. You're in it to win it.

Make it Australian: The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is an encouraging and supportive platform for local filmmakers. We commit to playing at least 45% Australian content in our 2021 fest to support the local industry. Screen Australia, Film Victoria, Create NSW, Screen West, Screen QLD, Screen NT, Screen Tasmania, Documentary Australia Foundation, AIDC, and Goodpitch Australia productions are encouraged to apply. MDFF wants to have the very best Australian competition drawing from local industry and indie talent. SBS, NITV and ABC productions are also eligible to apply to compete, provided that the production submitted contains new material and is effectively a director’s cut.

The Coolest Cinemas:
Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is currently part of the Cinema Nova family of festivals including Transitions Film Festival, Melbourne Queer Festival, Monster Fest. Cinema Nova is one of Australia's best cinemas and is the southern hemispheres largest independent cinema with 16 screens in inner city Melbourne and one of the coolest cocktail bars around. Cinema Nova is the go-to-venue to premiere documentaries down under including exclusive Australian premieres like the Sparks Brothers, Billie Holiday VS USA. All feature, shorts, video essays and documentary web series in competition will be played in DCP on a 4k projector at 24 FPS in Dolby surround sound. The cinema's we will be utilizing for the competition will be 147 to 240 seat capacity. All Q&A's will be conducted by a Film Critics Circle of Australia or Australian Film Critics Association member. We even have curated cocktails at the cinema bar and unmissable parties and networking events.

The Best Festival:
MDFF premieres, screens and showcases more quality local Australian and International documentaries each year than any other documentary only film festival in Australia and gives more talented Indie Filmmakers a chance to compete and screen to a big, receptive audience in Melbourne, Australia. The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is consistently featured on SBS, ABC, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian, Time Out, Concrete Playground, and Weekend Notes and had additional short documentaries featured in Federation Square.
The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival presents a unique opportunity and supportive platform to showcase YOUR documentary Down Under in one of the coolest and most liveable cities in the world - Melbourne, Australia. We are looking for exclusive World, Australian or Melbourne premieres. for feature documentaries to showcase in our competition. Let our 45 media partners, and publicist get behind and help promote YOU and YOUR project Down Under and get just the right momentum and exposure behind your project launch in Australia.

In Short:
The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival aims to feature the freshest and most innovative documentaries from around the world, from short docs right through to feature length, award winning films. The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival looks to promote the best quality independent and industry documentaries cinema has to offer.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Showcases The Best Entries From the Best Festivals Going Head-To-Head in Melbourne Australia Like:
American Documentary Film Festival, Big Sky Film Festival, Cannes, CPH:DOX, Doxa, Full Frame, Hot Docs, IDA, IDFA, Slamdance, Sundance, SXSW, Sydney Film Festival, The New York Film Festival, RIDM, Harlem International Film Festival, DocAviv, ImagineNative, Shanghai International Film Festival, The Muslim Film Festival, TIFF, Tribecca, Venice, Hot Springs Doc Fest, Telluride Film Festival, Tokyo Docs, AFI Docs, Sebastopol Documentary Film Festival, Rotterdam International Film Festival, Doc N Roll, and Cork International Film Festival.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Showcases Top Submissions from Top Organisations:
ESPN, Time Magazine, HBO, The Atlantic, Story Hive, Loading Docs, Australian Cultural Fund, Environmental Victoria, Creative Victoria, Regional Arts Victoria, Australia Rise Fund, BFI, Kartequinn, National Geographic, Screen Australia, Film Victoria, Screen West, Screen Tasmania, Screen Ireland, Doc Society, CBC, BBC, NL Film Fonds, NFB, IDA, Documentary Australia Foundation, Wild Angle Tasmania, AIDC and NITV.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Has Seen Massive Ongoing Success and Distribution For Filmmakers:
Netflix, Apple +, Amazon, Stan, SBS, ABC, NITV, Waterbear, The New York Times, The New Yorker, MTV Films, Foxtel, Redbull TV, National Geographic, iWonder, Docplay, The Guardian Documentary Channel, Films for Change, Rialto Channel.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Has Been Featured In:
Channel 9, Channel 10, The Project, ABC, SBS, NITV, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald, Triple RRR, PBS, Time Out, Broadsheet, Concrete Playground, 3CR, Kiss FM, 60 Minutes, Film Daily, Weekend Notes, IF Magazine, Vimooz, The Australian, Movie Metropolis, Screen Hub, Arts Hub, The Daily Telegraph, Radio National, 3WBC, Plenty Valley FM, 2SER, Filmink, Flicks, and The Conversation.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Has Showcased Project From Top Australian Talent:
Warwick Thornton, Jack Thompson, Bruce Beresford, Rachel Griffiths, Olivia Newton-John, Cate Blanchett, Tommy Emmanuel, Jack Charles, Kutcha Edwards, Tom Zubrycki & Pat Fiske.

Previous Masterclass Topics Include:
History of New Zealand documentary a personal journey with Costa Botes, Asian documentary with Nick Torrens, VOD and distributions with Beama Films, crowdfunding for documentary with Pozible, Self-Distribution with Fanforce, Making the Great Australian Music Documentary, Making a Personal Documentary, Making LGBTIQ and Aboriginal Documentaries, Experimental Documentary, Documentary Filmmakers and Mental Health, Mobile Phone Filmmaking for Documentary Filmmaking.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Has Had Submissions Involving Some of the World's Top Directors & Big Stars Like:
Peter Medak, Werner Herzog, Oliver Stone, Leonardo Di Caprio, Bruce Beresford, Richard Linklater, Martin Scorsese, Francis Ford Coppola, Lawrence Kasdan, James Cameron, Errol Morris, Barbara Kopple, Anjelica Huston, Susan Sarandon, Sharon Stone, Cynthia Nixon and Joan Baez.

Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Showcases The Best Music Docos from Men at Work, Tommy Emmanuel, Placebo, Grace Jones, The Sonics, Agnostic Front, George Michael, Van Duran, Terry Pendergrass, Ronnie Wood, the Velvet Underground, Strange Tenants, Head Like a Hole, The Swans, The Beatles, Jonny Greenwood and Beverley Glenn-Copeland.

The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival team looks forward to bringing you a diverse, challenging slate of documentaries that will entertain, educate and inform you. So let’s make some Melbourne film history together!

The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival is a competitive film festival and has 21 award categories, known as the Australian Documentary Awards, which you can enter, they include:

Pool A

Short Awards
Supreme Jury Prize Short Documentary
Best International Short Documentary, Video Essay or Webseries
Best Australian Short Documentary, Video Essay or Webseries
Best Melbourne Short Documentary, Video Essay or Webseries
Best VR / Interactive Documentary
Best Short Director – International
Best Short Director - Australia

Pool B
Feature Awards
Supreme Jury Prize Feature Documentary
Best International Documentary
Best Australian Documentary
Audience Choice - Feature
Best Music Documentary
Best Environmental Documentary
Best Director - Australia
Best Director – International
Best Melbourne Documentary

Pool C
Documentary Photography Awards
Supreme Jury Prize Documentary Photograph
Best International Documentary Photograph
Best Australian Documentary Photograph
Best Documentary Photographer


Prizes:
Supreme Jury Prize Award (Feature) - $1,500
Best Australian Short Documentary - $1,000
Best International Short Documentary - $1,000
Supreme Jury Prize Award - Photography - $500
Best Director - $500
Other prizes TBA June 2022



MELBOURNE DOCUMENTARY FILM FESTIVAL

SUBMISSION RULES

Please note The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival supports MIFF and AIDC but is independent and not part of either organization.

These rules (the “Rules”) apply to all submissions to The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival Inc (“MDFF”). By submitting your film (the “Film”) for consideration for inclusion in the festival operated by MDFF (the “Festival”), you (the “Applicant” or “You”) hereby agree to be bound by these Rules.

THE RULES

1. Submission

1.1 MDFF will consider each submission received (a “Submission”) against the Eligibility Criteria (defined below).
1.2 A Film which does not meet the Eligibility Criteria as of the date of screening will not be screened.
1.3 MDFF may, at its absolute discretion, decide to accept a submission which meets the Eligibility Criteria, but is not obliged to screen any particular Film at the Festival even if the Film meets the Eligibility Criteria. MDFF reserves the right to change a decision to screen a Film at its discretion.
1.4 A decision made by MDFF to accept or refuse to screen a Film is final. Under no circumstances will MDFF refund any submission fees paid. Please ensure you check all dates, currency conversions and associated costs before submitting your documentary there will be no refund. Due to the amount of submission received individual feedback is not possible, but we can suggest registering for our next Documentary Open Mic by emailing info@mdff.org.au
1.5 Successful applicants will be contacted in late May or early June 2022.
1.6 Successful applicants will be forwarded a copy of the MDFF Screening Agreement. Submissions from successful applicants who do not agree to the MDFF Screening Agreement will not be screened.
1.8 You acknowledge that MDFF does not pay screening fees to applicants.

2. Eligibility

2.1 A Submission is eligible if all of the following conditions are met:
a. The Submission is received before the due date of 31st May 2022
b. Documentaries that commenced production from no earlier than 1st January 2013;
c. The Film has never been, and will not be before 12 July 2020, released on DVD, freely available online or theatrically released other than on Fanforce (however, the Festival may at its discretion accept Films which have been theatrically released or previously screened at other festivals) exceptions to this are Video Essays, Documentary Web Series and some Short documentaries, ABC, SBS, NITV feature documentaries which must contain new material;
d. The Film is in English or contains English subtitles; and
e. The Submission accompanied by the applicable submission fee
(the “Eligibility Criteria”).
2.2 MDFF prefers that Films be submitted for assessment for our competition via Festhome.
3. Return of Materials

3.1 Materials submitted will not be returned. We strongly recommend that you do not submit original materials.

4. Warranty

4.1 By submitting your Film, you warrant that:
a. You are free to submit the Film to the Festival;
b. The Film meets the Eligibility Criteria; and
c. You have obtained all necessary clearances in respect of the Film and the Film does not infringe the rights (including without limitation copyright) of any third party.

5: Specs:

Feature, Short, Video Essay, will be played in DCP at 24FPS (not 25 FPS)
360 / VR Docs
Video
-360 microscopic
.mp4
-4k resolution, 2 by 1 aspect.
-30fps

Audio
-Stereo-Attached to the .mp4 video
-Spatial- Separate file Audio.tbe (41khz only) Video in this case to have no audio attached.

Good luck filmmakers!



  

 
  

Discover great films & festivals, one click away

Register
Login