Melies d`Or award for Best European Fantastic Film (0)


21 Sep 2018
Call for entries

04 Oct 2018
Festival closed

12 Oct 2018
Notification date

05 Oct 2018
14 Nov 2018


EFFFF Rue de la Comtesse de Flandre 8,  B-1020, Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

Festival description
Only for Méliès d'Or Awards qualifying festivals
Short film festival
Feature film festival

Méliès Qualifier festival logo qualifying festival
Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Music Video
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Does NOT have submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 Production date: Any
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Short Films 
 Feature Films 
 Any language
 Any language
Share on Social Networks


Festival start: 05 October 2018      Festival end: 14 November 2018

The European Fantastic Film Festivals Federation (the Federation) is a tightly knit network of 22 film festivals from 14 countries, with a global attendance of over 450 000 visitors, making it a vital economic and cultural player on the fantastic film scene.

Méliès d'Or prize for the best European fantastic feature film and short film.

The Federation annually awards a Méliès d'Or prize for the best European fantastic feature film and short film. An award which is renowned in Europe and abroad, the Méliès generates visibility for films, its producers and directors. It's an award that stands for quality, creativity, and imagination.

"The Méliès d'Or award stands for quality, creativity and imagination!"

The Méliès awards, named after Georges Méliès, the great French pioneer of fantastic films and special effects, were created in 1995. The Méliès feature film cycle lasts about one year and is open to festivals with affiliated membership (one per country). Each festival holds a competition for recently produced European genre films and its jury awards the winner a Méliès d'Argent. The Argent winner from each festival then go on to compete for the Méliès d'Or; the competition and awards ceremony are currently held at the last festival on the cycle calendar.

The Méliès cycle for short films works in the same way, except that it is optional and open to both affiliated and adherent members. Currently nearly all of the festivals hold the short film competition.

"The first Méliès d'Or was awarded in 1996!"

The first Méliès d'Or ceremony was held by the Brussels International Fantastic Film Festival in 1996 and the prize was given to Alex de la Iglesia for The Day of the Beast (El Día de la Bestia). Other winners since that landmark date have included Michael Winterbottom for Code 46 in 2004, Thomas Alfredson for Let the Right One In (Låt den Rätte Komma In), in 2008, Rodrigo Cortes for Buried in 2011 and Kristina Buozyte for Vanishing Waves (Aurora) in 2012.

The 22nd Méliès d'Or Ceremony will take place in Sitges in October 2018.



Discover great films & festivals, one click away