Short Encounters International Film Festival (1)

Verschoben 



Fristen

01 Mär 2021
Aufruf zu Einschreibungen

28 Apr 2021
Letzter Termin

17
Tage

30 Apr 2021
Benachrichtigungsdatum

01 Mär 2021
30 Apr 2021

Adresse

Giannitson 61 & Koletti 34,  54627, THESSALONIKI , -, Greece


Festival Beschreibung
Kurzfilmfestival 30'<


Festival Anforderungen
 Filmfestival
 Fiktion
 Dokumentarfilm
 Animation
 Fantastisch
 Terror
 Experimental
 Musik-Video
 Andere
 Alle Genre
 Alle Themen
 Hat Einsende-Gebühren
 Internationales Festival
 Physischer Standort
 Januar 2017
 Produktionsländer: Jede
 Länder Dreharbeiten: Jede
 Nationalitäten Regisseur: Jede
 Debütfilme 
 Schulprojekte 
 Kurzfilme  30'<
 Jede Sprache
 Untertitel 
English
Teilen in sozialen Netzwerken
 Facebook 
 Tweet




Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival
Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival
Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival
Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival

English
German ML


Festival Start: 01 März 2021      Festival Ende: 30 April 2021

WER WIR SIND
Das Short Encounters International Film Festival (SEIFF) ist ein Verleihungsgremium, das dem bahnbrechenden, unabhängigen Kino aus aller Welt gewidmet ist. SEIFF öffnet seine Türen für die Zukunft des Kinos, indem sie aufstrebende Filmemacher, Schauspieler, Kameramann, Herausgeber und Produzenten willkommen heißen, um ihre Filme zu präsentieren und für ihr Talent, ihre einzigartige Vision anerkannt zu werden und ihre Filme weltweit zu sehen.
Wir suchen neue Stimmen, die über Stereotypen und Normen hinausgehen und neue Bedeutungen über unsere Welt und ihre Ära hindeuten. Wir suchen Authentizität; Kurzfilme mit großen Geschichten und starken Charakteren, Schöpfer ehrlich und aufrichtig zu ihrer Kunst, die über die rutschige Neigung der Selbstdarstellung bewegen, brechen die Sicherheitsgrenzen konventioneller Methoden, und durch ihre Arbeit kann Universelle hervorrufen.
Da sich die Filmproduktion über die Kontrolle des Studiosystems hinaus bewegt und das Indie-Kino außerhalb des Mainstreams arbeiten kann, ist für Indie-Filmemacher ein neues Zeitalter entstanden, das Raum für Experimente, künstlerisches Wachstum und das nötige Vertrauen schafft, um es auf die nächste Stufe zu bringen; ein Feature zu machen. Ich glaube, Sie werden mir zustimmen, wenn ich sage, dass für die Mehrheit der Kurzfilmschaffenden ein Kurzfilm als Sprungbrett für den Spielfilm gilt. Aber, um das zu tun, braucht Ihre Arbeit Hilfe, um das richtige Publikum zu erreichen, anerkannt und für seinen Wert gefeiert zu werden. Unser Ziel ist es, alles in unserer Macht Stehende zu tun, um Ihre Arbeit zu sehen und Ihr Talent zu schätzen, denn wir wissen ebenso wie Sie, dass „Ihre Arbeit zu sehen ist der Vorläufer, um Ihre Fähigkeiten zu schätzen“ (M. Rabiger).

Wir sind nicht von technologischer Kompetenz beeindruckt, sondern von ästhetischer Essenz. Wir sind von Bedeutung beeindruckt. Die technische Entwicklung hat uns nicht talentierter gemacht. Es hat gerade eine Tür für Talente geöffnet. Der Zugang zu modernster Hardware oder die Beherrschung dieser Hardware hat uns nicht zu inspirierenden und „coolen“ Regisseuren gemacht. Es machte es uns einfach einfacher. Ich meine, seien wir ehrlich. Spanisch lernen aber fließend, wird Ihnen nicht die Möglichkeit geben, „Hundert Jahre Einsamkeit“ zu schreiben.

Scorsese sagt uns: „Das Wichtigste ist, dass die Technologie die Kunst nicht diktiert; die Kunst diktiert die Technologie. Die Kunst steht an erster Stelle“. In kurzen Begegnungen IFF suchen wir nach Kunst.

Alle Filme, die konkurrieren, sollten die Möglichkeit haben, mit anderen unabhängigen Filmen und mit Weltklasse-Talenten in einem gleichen Wettbewerb teilzunehmen, unabhängig von Budgetbeschränkungen. Daher lassen wir Produktionsbeschränkungen Ihre Kreativität und Originalität nicht überschatten. Unser Ziel ist es, eine Plattform für wertvolle, clevere und einzigartige unabhängige Filme zu sein, die dazu neigen, einzigartige Erzählungen zu kreieren und soziale, politische und/oder psychologische Themen und Themen zu erforschen. Leider gibt es Fälle, in denen Produktionsschwachstellen nicht übersehen werden können. Und während einige Werke in dramatischer Tiefe und Einfallsreichtum übertreffen, schaffen sie dennoch kein überzeugendes und vollendetes Ergebnis. Um diese Werke zu ehren, stellen wir den Short Encounters Award vor. Dies ist eine separate von den Hauptkategorien Auszeichnung, die Shorts auf einem no/niedrigen Budget und/oder minimalen Crew produziert wird, mit dem Ziel, die Verdienste von was sonst fabelhafte Projekte zu belohnen, aber aufgrund eines reduzierten Gesamtproduktionsdesigns fehlt es an Authentizität, Kohäsion usw. Potential!
(Weitere Informationen zum SE Award finden Sie in der Rubrik „WIE IT WORKS“).
Wir sind nicht hier, um zu sagen, dass unser Festival besser ist als jedes andere.

Es gibt viele wunderbare Festivals da draußen, mit großem Respekt für die Schöpfer und ihre Werke, die der Einreichungsgebühr würdig sind.
Wir sagen, dass wir einer von ihnen sind und dass wir hier sind, um unsere eigene wunderbare Geschichte zu schreiben.
Wenn Sie Teil dieser Geschichte sein wollen, zögern Sie nicht, unsere Reise mitzumachen!

WIE ES FUNKTIONIERT
Short Encounters IFF veranstaltet 6 zweimonatige Online-Wettkampfrunden, gefolgt von einem jährlichen Filmfestival Live-Event, daher IST ES NICHT nur ein Online-Wettbewerb. Wir werden unsere jährlichen Veranstaltungen in großen europäischen Städten veranstalten, die jedes Jahr anders sein werden. Die Eröffnungsausgabe des Festivals findet im Dezember 2021 in Athen (und/oder Thessaloniki), Griechenland statt. SEIFF beginnt seine Reise von Griechenland aus und wird durch Europa reisen, um erstaunliche Projekte aus der ganzen Welt zu fördern.

Wir werden nicht nach mehreren Einsendungen in verschiedenen Kategorien fragen. Eine Einreichung ist für alle Prämien gültig und mit einem angemessenen Preis. Sie müssen also nicht mehr als eine Gebühr bezahlen. Durch die Einreichung an die Short Encounters IFF werden Filmemacher in allen Wettbewerbskategorien des Festivals für Auszeichnungen und Nominierungen mit EINER Einreichungsgebühr zur Prüfung einreichen.

Unser Hauptwettbewerb ist in zwei Budgetgruppen unterteilt. No/Low Budget Kurzfilm & Kurzfilm. Wie oben erwähnt, nehmen alle Filme, die konkurrieren, unabhängig von der Budgetgruppe an den Hauptwettbewerb und die Auszeichnungen aller anderen Kategorien teil. ABER nur No-/Low-Budget-Projekte sind für den Short Encounters Award berechtigt, wie im Abschnitt „WER WIR SIND“ beschrieben.

Wir geben kein individuelles Feedback zu jedem Eintrag, den wir erhalten, es sei denn, Sie entscheiden sich für eine kritische Bewertung oder rechtfertigen uns nicht, dass Sie Ihre Arbeit nicht auswählen. Es werden keine Anfragen oder Argumente zu nicht ausgewählten Filmen unterhalten. Wenn Sie sich für eine kritische Überprüfung entscheiden, wird einer der Experten unseres Teams zu gegebener Zeit (nicht länger als 7 bis 10 Tage, abhängig von der Arbeitsbelastung) zur Verfügung stellen.

FORTSCHRITT DER AUSWAHL
Der Auswahlprozess erfolgt in drei Stufen.

Während der ersten Etappe wählt unsere erfahrene Gruppe von mehr als fünfundzwanzig Filmvorstellern zusammen mit dem Festivaldirektor und künstlerischer Leiter die Filme aus, die den Mindestanforderungen entsprechend den Standards des Festivals entsprechen, für die zweite Bühne und die Auswahlkommission. Das Auswahlkomitee, bestehend aus qualifizierten Gastjuroren und einer zweiten, kleineren Gruppe von Screenern, beurteilt die Einträge und entscheidet über die offizielle Auswahl.

In diesem Stadium wird die endgültige Entscheidung von der Auswahlkommission getroffen, die wiederum die Ergebnisse dem endgültigen Richterteam und der letzten Etappe vorlegt.

Die Jury ist unabhängig von der Auswahlkommission, macht ihre Abstimmung völlig unabhängig voneinander und entscheidet für die Nominierten und schließlich die Preisträger der zweimonatigen Runde.

WICHTIGER HINWEIS:
Wir zeigen die Filme nicht online! Die Mitglieder der Jury sehen sich die Filme privat online an.

Die zweimonatigen Gewinner werden automatisch für die Teilnahme am jährlichen Festival qualifiziert und während der jährlichen Veranstaltung zusammen mit anderen ausgewählten nominierten Projekten live gezeigt. Filme, die mit dem Short Encounters Award ausgezeichnet wurden, werden ebenfalls zur Vorführung in Betracht gezogen.

Der beste Kurzfilm jeder Runde ist optional für Werbezwecke, um ein Electronic Press Kit (EPK) an entries@aladerri.com zu senden, einschließlich:

• mindestens ein Standbild aus dem Film (im Format .jpg oder .tif bei 300 dpi)
• eine Zusammenfassung des Films in englischer Sprache
• eine kurze Biographie des Regisseurs in englischer Sprache
• Foto des Regisseurs (im Format .jpg oder .tif bei 300 dpi)
• Film offizielle Plakat HQ
• Filmkredite

Um für das Short Encounters International Film Festival berechtigt zu sein, müssen Filme folgende Anforderungen erfüllen:

●In der Ausgabe 2021 akzeptieren wir alle Genres außer DOKUMENTARIK
● Einsendungen werden ausschließlich über www.Festhome.com akzeptiert.
● Der Film muss am oder nach dem 1. Januar 2017 fertiggestellt sein.
● Um einreichen zu können, muss die Gesamtlaufzeit des Films weniger als 30 Minuten betragen (einschließlich Credits).
● Der Premiere-Status wirkt sich nicht auf die Berechtigung aus. Wir legen keine Beschränkungen für Ihre Arbeit im Hinblick auf den Premiere Status oder ob Ihre Arbeit online zur Verfügung gestellt wurde.
● Die offizielle Sprache des Festivals ist Englisch. Daher müssen alle Filme auf ENGLISCH oder mit englischen Untertiteln (wenn in einer anderen Sprache) eingereicht werden. Für den Fall, dass Untertitel fehlen, werden Sie per E-Mail benachrichtigt und aufgefordert, Ihre Arbeit zu aktualisieren. Wenn Ihre aktualisierte Einreichung nicht innerhalb der letzten Frist zur Verfügung gestellt wird, wird Ihre Arbeit ohne Rückerstattung der Einreichungsgebühren disqualifiziert.
● Mehrere Einsendungen müssen als einzelne Einsendungen bereitgestellt werden.
● Sie haben keinen Anspruch auf Rückerstattung der Einreichungsgebühren aus irgendeinem Grund, sobald Ihr Film auf der Plattform Festhome den Status „In Betracht“ hat.
● Eingereichte Filme müssen entweder direkt über ihr Secure Online Screener-System auf Festhome hochgeladen oder als passwortgeschützter Vimeo-Link oder nicht gelisteter YouTube-Link direkt in das Festhome-Online-Bewerbungsformular eingegeben werden.
● Wichtig: SEIFF akzeptiert keine Screener per E-Mail; Sie müssen direkt auf Festhome oder auf eine Drittanbieter-Website wie Vimeo oder YouTube hochladen.
● Bei Auswahl für die Vorführung muss eine Kinoqualität zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Alles, was weniger als HD bei einem Minimum von 1920x1080 ist, wird nicht abgeschirmt.
● Wenn sich das Passwort zwischen der Einreichung und dem Festival ändert, muss der Einreicher SEIFF so bald wie möglich per E-Mail informieren. Jeder Film, der mit einem falschen oder veralteten Passwort eingereicht wird, kann nicht für das Festival in Betracht gezogen werden; in diesem Fall wird die Einreichung disqualifiziert und alle gezahlten Gebühren verfallen.
● Der einreichende Filmemacher muss entweder der Produzent oder Regisseur des Films sein.
● Der Produzent/Regisseur garantiert dem Short Encounters IFF, dass er alle erforderlichen Genehmigungen für die Teilnahme an diesem Film erhalten hat und dass der Film nicht die Rechte, einschließlich des Urheberrechts, Dritter verletzt und dass alle Rechte und Freigaben gemacht wurden. Dazu gehört auch die Verwendung von Musik und literarischem Material. Sie akzeptieren, die volle rechtliche Verantwortung für das geistige Eigentum hierin zu übernehmen.
● Der Film ist weder einem Rechtsstreit unterworfen noch wird von einem Rechtsstreit bedroht. Darüber hinaus halten Sie SEIFF von Schäden oder Verlust von Materialien auf dem Weg zum, vom oder anderweitigen Festivalbesuch schadlos. Sie übernehmen alle rechtlichen Verantwortlichkeiten darin (einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf Anwaltskosten und Kosten des Gerichts).
● Alle technischen Probleme mit den eingereichten Filmen liegen zu 100% in der Verantwortung der Filmemacher. Wenn Ihre Videodatei zum Zeitpunkt der Beurteilung nicht funktioniert, wird sie automatisch abgelehnt, ohne Rückerstattung. Bitte kontaktieren Sie das Festivalteam, wenn es irgendwelche Probleme mit dem Einreichungsprozess gibt, und es wird eine Lösung gefunden.
● Indem Sie Ihr Projekt an Short Encounters IFF einreichen, stimmen der Einreicher und Filmemacher, die mit dem Einstiegsprojekt verbunden sind, der Veröffentlichung von Standbildern und kurzen Clip-Fragmenten aus dem Film auf der Festivalwebseite/Plattform sowie Social-Media-Kanälen zu, ausschließlich für Werbe-, nicht-kommerzielle und pädagogische Zwecke Zwecke. Fotos aus Ihrem Film könnten beispielsweise in unserer endgültigen Liste der Gewinner/Nominierten verwendet werden, und kurze Clip-Fragmente aus Ihrem Film könnten in unserem Festival-Trailer verwendet werden.
● Wenn Ihr Film während der jährlichen Live-Veranstaltung oder möglichen Zwischenveranstaltungen zur Vorführung ausgewählt wird, bestätigen Sie, dass dem SEIFF ein Exemplar in einem erforderlichen Format zur Vorführung während dieser Veranstaltungen zur Verfügung steht. Indem Sie diesen Bedingungen zustimmen, erklären Sie sich hiermit einverstanden, SEIFF freizustellen, falls diese Rechte nicht ordnungsgemäß übertragen wurden.
● Unsere Richter haben Zugang zu allen Filmen und stimmen ab, ohne Ihre Arbeit öffentlich zu teilen.
● Zusätzlich willigen Sie ein, dass der Festivaldirektor Zugang zum Download Ihrer Filme hat, falls erforderlich, um das Offline-Studium und die Programmierungs-/Kurationsbedürfnisse und -funktionen des Festivals zu erleichtern. Sie können sich von dieser Option abmelden, während Sie trotzdem am Wettbewerb teilnehmen können.
● Wir können keine Rückerstattungen anbieten.
● Wir behalten uns das Recht vor, unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen zu aktualisieren.



  

 
  

Entdecken Sie großartige Filme & Festivals, nur einen Klick entfernt

Registrieren
Anmelden

Short Encounters International Film Festival (1)



Deadlines

01 Mar 2021
Call for entries

28 Apr 2021
Final deadline

30 Apr 2021
Notification date

01 Mar 2021
30 Apr 2021

Address

Giannitson 61 & Koletti 34,  54627, THESSALONIKI , -, Greece


Festival description
Short film festival 30'<


Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Fiction
 Documentary
 Animation
 Fantastic
 Terror
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Other
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Has submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 January 2017
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Short Films  30'<
 Any language
 Subtitles 
English
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet




Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival
Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival
Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival
Photo of Short Encounters International Film Festival

English


Festival start: 01 March 2021      Festival end: 30 April 2021

WHO WE ARE
The Short Encounters International Film Festival (SEIFF) is an awarding body dedicated to groundbreaking, independent cinema, from all around the world. SEIFF opens its doors to the future of cinema by welcoming emerging filmmakers, actors, cinematographers, editors and producers to present their films and to be recognised for their talent, their unique vision and have their films seen globally.
We seek new voices that transcend stereotypes and norms, suggesting new meanings about our world and its era. We seek authenticity; short films with great stories and strong characters, creators honest and sincere to their art, that move beyond the slippery slope of self-display, breaking the safety boundaries of conventional methods, and through their work can evoke universals.
As the film production has moved beyond the control of the studio system and indie cinema can work outside the mainstream, a new age has emerged for indie filmmakers, that leaves room for experimentation, artistic growth, and for gaining the necessary confidence to take it to the next level; to make a feature. I feel you’ll agree with me when I'm saying that for the majority of short film creators, a short film is considered a stepping stone to making a feature film. But, in order to do that, your work needs help to reach the right audience, be recognized and celebrated for its value. Our AIM is to do all in our power to get your work seen and your talent appreciated because we know, as well as you do, that “getting your work seen is the precursor to getting your abilities valued” (M. Rabiger).

We are not impressed with technological competency but with aesthetic essence. We are impressed with meaning. Technical evolution did not make us more talented. It just opened a door to talent. The access to state of the art hardware or the mastery of it did not make us inspiring and “cool” directors. It just made it easier for us. I mean, let's face it. Learning Spanish however fluently, will not grant you the ability to write “One Hundred Years of Solitude”.

As Scorsese tells us “the key thing is that the technology does not dictate the Art; the Art dictates the technology. The Art comes first”. In Short Encounters IFF, WE LOOK FOR ART.

All films competing should have the opportunity to participate with other independent movies and with world-class talents in an equal competition, regardless of budget constraints. Therefore, we don’t let production limitations overshadow your creativity and originality. Our goal is to be a platform for valuable, clever and unique independent films that tend to create unique narratives and explore social, political and/or psychological themes and topics. Unfortunately, there are cases that production weak spots cannot be overlooked. And while some works exceed in dramatic depth and resourcefulness, nevertheless they fail to produce a convincing and completed result. In order to honour these works, we introduce the Short Encounters Award. This is a seperate from the main categories award, given to shorts produced on a no/low budget and/or minimal crew, aiming to reward the merits of what could otherwise be fabulous projects, but due to a reduced overall production design they lack in authenticity, cohesiveness etc. An Award that aims to reward potential!
(More information regarding the SE Award can be found on the “HOW IT WORKS” section).
We are not here to state that our festival is better than any other.

There are a lot of wonderful festivals out there, with huge respect for creators and their works, worthy of the submission fee.
We say that we are one of them and that we are here to write our own wonderful history.
If you want to be part of this history feel free to join our journey!

HOW IT WORKS
Short Encounters IFF hosts 6 online bimonthly competition rounds, followed by an annual film festival live event, therefore IT IS NOT only an online competition. We will be hosting our annual events in major European cities, which are going to be different each year. The inaugural edition of the festival will be held in Athens (and/or Thessaloniki), Greece in December 2021. SEIFF begins its journey from Greece and will be travelling all around Europe promoting amazing projects from all around the world.

We won't ask for multiple submissions in different categories. One submission is valid for all the awards, and with a reasonable price. So, you do not need to pay more than one fee. By submitting to Short Encounters IFF, filmmakers will be submitting for consideration across all of the festival's competition categories for awards/nominations with ONE submission fee.

Our main competition is divided into two budget groupings. No/Low Budget Short Film & Short Film. As stated above, regardless of the budget groupings, all films competing enter the main competition and all other categories’ awards. BUT only No/Low Budget projects are eligible for the Short Encounters Award, as described in the “WHO WE ARE” section.

We do not provide individual feedback on every entry we get, unless you opt for a critical review, nor justify/explain ourselves for not selecting your work. No inquiries or arguments will be entertained regarding non-selected films. If you opt for a critical review one of our team’s professionals will provide one in due time (no more than 7 to 10 days, depending on the workload).

SELECTION PROGRESS
The selection process takes place in three stages.

During the first stage, our knowledgeable group of more than twenty five screeners, along with the festival director and artistic director, will choose the films that meet the minimum requirements, according to the festival’s standards, to go onto the second stage and to the selection committee. The selection committee, constituted by qualified guest jurors along with a second, smaller group of screeners, will judge the entries and decide on the Official Selections.

At this stage, the final decision will be taken by the selection committee, which in turn will present the results to the final judging team and on to the last stage.

The judging panel is independent of the selection committee, making their voting entirely independent of one another and deciding for the nominees and eventually the award winners of the bimonthly round.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
We don't screen the films online! The members of the jury watch the films online privately.

The bimonthly winners are automatically qualified to compete at the annual festival and be screened live during the annual event along with other selected nominated projects. Films having won the Short Encounters Award will also be considered for screening.

The Best Short Film of each round will be optional for promotional purposes to send an Electronic Press Kit (EPK) to entries@aladerri.com including:

• at least one still photo from the film (in .jpg or .tif format at 300 dpi)
• a synopsis of the film in English
• a brief biography of the director in English
• director’s photograph (in .jpg or .tif format at 300 dpi)
• film official poster HQ
• film credits

AWARD CATEGORIES

Best Short Film
Best Experimental Short Film
Bet Animation Short Film
Best Student Short Film
Best Director
Best Original Score
Best Editing
Best Cinematography
Best Screenplay
Best Art Direction
Best Leading Actor
Best Leading Actress
Best Supporting Actor
Best Supporting Actress

All entries are promoted for free through our social media and website, with a featured page of each project, unless the submitter prefers not to. For this purpose, we recommend that projects must be fully entered on FilmFreeway, including synopsis, and downloadable poster and trailer.
All projects officially selected in each bimonthly round receive the Short Encounters IFF official laurel and the customised digital certificate of achievement according to their final status in the competition (Nominees and Award Winners).
The Best Short Film of the bimonthly round will also receive a free FILM REVIEW. Besides the Major Award for each category, it can also be given Short Encounters Grand Jury Awards, Honourable Mentions and the SHORT ENCOUNTERS AWARD eligible ONLY for No/Low budget short films.

ANNUAL AWARD WINNERS

Best Short Film of the Annual edition receives;
Winner laurel, Framed Certificate, SEIFF Trophy, Cash Prize

Best Director of the Annual edition receives;
Winner laurel, Framed Certificate, SEIFF Trophy, Cash Prize

All other categories receive;
Winner laurels, Framed Certificates

To be eligible for the Short Encounters International Film Festival, films must comply with the following:

●In the 2021 edition WE ACCEPT ALL GENRES EXCEPT FROM DOCUMENTARY
● Entries are accepted exclusively through www.Festhome.com.
● The film must have been completed on or after January 1, 2017.
● In order to submit, the total running time of the film needs to be of less than 30 minutes (including credits).
● Premiere status does not affect eligibility. We place no restrictions on your work in terms of premiere status or whether your work has been made available online.
● The official language of the festival is English. Therefore, all films must be submitted in ENGLISH or with English subtitles (if in a different language). In the event subtitles are missing, you will be notified by email and asked to update your work. If your updated submission fails to be provided by the final deadline, your work will be disqualified with no refunds of the submission fees.
● Multiple submissions must be provided as individual submissions.
● You will not be eligible for any refund of submission fees for any reason once your film is in “In Consideration” status on the platform Festhome.
● Submitted films must be either uploaded directly to Festhome via their Secure Online Screener system, or supplied as a password-protected Vimeo link or unlisted YouTube link entered directly into the Festhome online application form.
● Important: SEIFF does not accept screeners via email; you must upload directly to Festhome or to a third-party site such as Vimeo or YouTube.
● If selected for screening, a theatrical quality screener must be provided. Anything less than HD at a minimum of 1920x1080 will not be screened.
● If the password changes at any point between the submission and the Festival, the Submitter must inform SEIFF via email as soon as possible. Any film that is submitted with an incorrect or outdated password cannot be considered for the Festival; in such a case, the submission will be disqualified, and any and all fees paid will be forfeited.
● The submitting filmmaker must be either the producer or director of the film.
● The Producer/Director warrants to the Short Encounters IFF that they have obtained all the necessary permissions to enter this film and that the film does not infringe the rights, including copyright, of any third party and that all rights and clearances have been made. This includes use of music and literary material. You accept to hold full legal responsibility for the intellectual property herein.
● The film is not subject to any litigation nor is threatened by any litigation. In addition you hold SEIFF harmless from damage to, or loss of any or all materials en route to, from or otherwise at the festival. You assume all legal responsibilities therein (including but not limited to attorney's fees and costs of the court).
● Any technical issues with the submitted films are 100% the responsibility of the filmmakers. If, at the time of judging, your video file doesn’t work it will be automatically rejected, without a refund. Please contact the festival team if there are any issues with the submission process, and a solution will be found.
● By submitting your project to Short Encounters IFF, the submitter and filmmakers associated with the entry project consent to the posting of stills and short clip fragments from the film on the festival's website/platform plus social media channels, for solely promotional, non-commercial and educational purposes. Stills from your film could be used for example within our final list of winners/nominees, and short clip fragments from your film could be used within our festival trailer.
● If your film is selected for screening during the annual live event, or possible intermediate live events, you confirm that an exhibition copy will be available to the SEIFF in a required format for screening during these events. By Agreeing to these terms, you hereby agree to indemnify SEIFF, in the event that such rights have not been properly transferred.
● Our judges have access to all films and they vote without sharing your work publicly.
● ​​Additionally you consent to the festival director having access to download your film(s), if necessary, to facilitate offline study and the festival's programming/curation needs and functions. You can opt out from this whilst still being able to participate in the competition.
● We cannot provide refunds.
● We reserve the right to update our terms and conditions.



  

 
  

Discover great films & festivals, one click away

Register
Login